Manu stormed into my office and flopped into a chair. “I’m really mad at God”

Having grown up in a strong church family, he’d met and married a Christian girl. Now he has the picture of misery.

“Okay…. urm so why are you mad at God? “

“Because,” manu said “last week I committed adultery.”

Long pause I finally said. “I can see why God would be mad at you. But why are you mad at God?”

Manu explained that for several months he’d felt a strong, mutual attraction with a woman at his office. He’d prayed earnestly that God would keep him from immortality.

“Did you ask your wife to pray for you?” I said.

“Did you stay away from the woman?”

“Well…. no we went out to lunch everyday.”

Slowly I started pushing a big book across my desk. Manu watched, uncomprehending, as the book inches closer and closer to the edge. I prayed aloud,

“O Lord, please keep this book from falling!”

I kept pushing and praying. God didn’t suspend the law of gravity. The book went right over the edge, smacking the floor.

“I’m mad at God,” I said to Manu. “I asked him to keep my book from falling…. but he let me down!”

What’s your view on this story and how does it apply to our lives daily?

Blessed week.

Published by iamojay

I'm letting you decide, what you want to believe

Leave a comment